Complexities of the Digital World

………….. and its Impact on Education and Schooling

The digital world is extraordinary.  Digital technology is most definitely transforming our classrooms today.  It allows us to teach, learn, collaborate, explore, communicate and so much more.  Before undertaking this course I was unaware of the endless directions you can navigate your way online. I was what Howell (p.133) would refer to as, a technology neophyte.images (12)  Using my very basic computer skills, I entered this subject with slight apprehension.  Although finding this course a little difficult at times, I have enjoyed learning what technology can offer a person.  It allowed me to practice and learn from my mistakes, taking control of my own learning.  At many times I found myself online googling “how to’.

“By moving to the next stage, schools will equip learners and teachers to meet challenges of a rapidly changing world” (Digital Education Advisory Group, p.11).  In my view this is essential.  Although I understand the benefits of allowing independent student learning, this complex online world must be understood by teachers as well as the students.  We must have the skills to guide our students through all the different apps, creating an exciting learning environment.  This evolving digital world will always have teachers and students learning new skills using new technology.

Undertaking this subject, I achieved more than I thought possible.  I learned how to convert files, share links and add downloaded pictures from web to my NearPod presentation, amongst other things.  Presentations such as blogs and nearpods allowed me to express my thoughts, and display them in my own way.  I believe that teaching through the digital world allows students to feel free explore.

images (13)

I see this freedom as giving students the confidence to try, without the fear of failure.  I know, although my blog will not be the best presented, I have taken one small step of many, towards my journey to digital fluency.

 

 

 

 

 

References

Barnado’s, (2015).  Barnado’s: Children in a Digital World.  Retrieved     from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qMvvH1UNwn8

 

Digital Education Advisory Group, (n.d.).  Beyond the Classroom: A   New Digital Education For Young Australians in the 21st Century.       Retrieved from https://docs.education.gov.au

 

Howell, J. (2012).  Teaching with ICT: Digital Pedagogies for   Collaboration and Creativity.  South Melbourne, VIC: Oxford   University Press.

 

 

 

Leave a comment